Nanosized Ir

Tóm tắt

Normally in proton exchange membrane water electrolysis (PEMWE), the anode has the largest overpotential at typical operating current densities. By development of the electrocatalytic material used for the oxygen evolving electrode, great improvements in efficiency can be performed. In electrochemistry, rare metallic oxides RuO2 and IrO2 exhibit the best catalytic properties for the oxygen evolution reaction (OER) in acid electrolytes compared to other noble metals. RuO2 is the most active catalyst and IrO2 is the most stable catalyst. An oxide containing both elements is therefore expected to be a good catalyst for the OER. In this study IrxRu1−xO2 nanosized powder electrocatalysts for oxygen evolution reaction is synthesized by hydrolysis method. Cyclic voltammetry, anodic polarization and galvanostatic measurements were conducted in solution of 0.5 M H2SO4 to investigate electrocatalytic behavior and stability of the electrocatalyst. The mechanisms of the thermal decomposition process of RuCl3.nH2O and IrCl3.mH2O precursors to form oxide powders were studied by means of thermal gravity analysis (TGA). X-ray diffraction (XRD) and scanning electron microscopy (SEM) were used analysis for determination of the crystallographic structure, morphology and catalysts particle size. Based on the given results, the IrxRu1−xO2 (x = 0.5; 0.7) compounds were found to be more active than pure IrO2 and more stable than pure RuO2.

Tài liệu tham khảo

Carmo M, Fritz D L, Mergel J and Stolten D 2013 Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 38 4901
Budevski E, Radev I and Slavcheva E 2008 J. Uni. Chem. Technol. Metall. 43 11
Marshall A, Borrensen B, Hagen G, Tsypkin M and Tunold R 2007 Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 32 431
Tunold N and Marshal A 2010 ECS Trans. 25 103
Mayousse E, Maillard F, Fouda Onana F, Sicardy O and Guillet N 2011 Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 36 10447
Song S et al 2008 Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 33 4955
Corona-Guinto J L, Garcia Cardeno L and Casillas Martinez D C 2013 Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 38 12667
Cheng J, Zhang H, Chen G and Zhang Y 2009 Electrochim. Acta 54 6250
Arikawa T, Takasu Y, Murakami Y, Asakura K and Iwasawa Y 1998 J. Phys. Chem. B 102 3736
Marshall A, Sunde S, Tsypkin M and Tunold R 2007 Int. J. Hydrogen Energy 32 2320
Wen T C and Hu C C 1995 J. Electrochem. Soc. 139 2158
Mattos-Costa F I, Lima-Neto P, Machado S A S and Avaca L A 1998 Electrochim. Acta 44 1515